Effective as of September 1st, 2015, Texas Senate Bill 818 requires a parent, who is appointed as a
conservator of a child, to disclose particular information regarding a
history of domestic violence. Previously, a parent subject to a court
order was required to reveal if he or she were living with a person who
had been convicted of a sexual offense. Now, parents in Texas must adhere
to more rigorous reporting measures.
A parent must disclose to the other parent if:
- The parent establishes a residence with a person who is subject of an active,
final protective order, at the time when the residence is established
- The parent lives with or allows unsupervised access to a child by a person
who is subject of a final protective order
- The parent is subject to a final protective order issued after the date
of the order establishing conservatorship
For the first requirement, the notice must be presented to the other parent
at the soonest available time, but no later than 30 days after a parent
begins living with a person who is subject to a protective order. The
deadline is the 90th day after the date the final protective order is issued for the second
requirement, or 30 days once the protective order was issued for the third
requirement. Failure to notify the other parent results in a Class C misdemeanor.
For more information and assistance with your divorce needs, contact CokerLegal
for a consultation at (888) 570-7899 today.